A cover speaks a 1000 words…

ImageI’m compelled to write another blog about the value of eBook and self-publishing.  Since I re-blogged the “Self-publishing is destroying the world”, I’ve had a lot of conflicting opinions on the subject. The truth is, there will always be those who (rightly in many cases) assert that a published author will always trump self-published. I don’t suppose that many of you who weren’t fortunate enough to be picked up out of the millions of authors who like me thought – “I can cut it, I’ll have agents and publishing houses bidding over my fantastic book” – would seriously turn down an offer to publish, if that offer came along.

I’ve said many times before, in blogs, interviews, on Facebook, and other online places, that I never sought to be a number one best-selling author.  I didn’t even know if I had the ability to even finish a book, and no one was more surprised than I, when I did actually do it.

So what’s my point? Well I self-published. I just wanted people to read my book. So after a lot of work and a lot of effort on the part of some fantastic people – John Campbell, Wendy Bertsch, Rob Reddan, Susan Finlay, Alex Laybourne, Phil Abbott, and of course the amazing Richard Sutton, who I will come back to a little later – I eventually published my little story. Then I held my breath because it was done, available to anyone, ready for downloading – ready for people to critique it.

Then it happened. My first review – 5 stars! Okay, this was from a family member, so I wait, and another from a close friend. Okay, this is good, but I need – wait – my first review, 5 stars, from someone who did not know me and then another… THAT is an amazing feeling. Not coerced, not polite because they “know me” – honest – and they like it!

So the burning question is: How does a self-published author like me, achieve sales in the midst of a million books?  Well, I thought about this a lot recently. First of all, I have a Facebook page and am building an online presence. I recently read George Takei’s “Oh Myy. There goes the Internet” and gained a little insight into marketing myself. Of course, George is an international icon who had a fan base already, all I had was a few online friends – but it didn’t put me off. I have managed to gain 9000+ likes for my author page. Recently I started to use Facebook advertising to gain more. Yes I pay for likes, but my budget is small and the success has been worth the effort. The other thing I have – and anyone who is planning to do this should read this very carefully – I have an amazing cover. That’s down to Richard Sutton. The cover for my book sells my book, that’s a fact.

I published my stats for the months of January to May – so go read that if you want to know how many books I sold. The reality is I sold 190 books in May (an average of 6 books a day). As of this date, June 24th, I’ve sold 215 books (an average of 9 a day).

You can’t do it alone. You can’t do it without a substantial effort. Do I think my book could have been published? Sure, but it might have needed a lot more work. What I have done is proved to myself (and a potential backer) that I can write a book and sell it – and that’s what I’m doing. I can hold my head up high and say to a publisher, agent, whatever: “Hey my book sold x number of copies, I can sell books. That’s what I have. In addition to a brand new (In progress), really awesome, amazingly clever, fantastic Murder Mystery!”

So, who would like to publish my newest book then????

You know how to contact me ;o)

CDA

5 comments

  1. Congrats Christopher, you have certainly earned it.

  2. Reblogged this on Official Site of Alex Laybourne – Author and commented:
    Christopher Abbott is a writer with a big future, and guess what… he is climbing to the top of the pile and doing it all on his lonesome… well, with a little help from his friends, but he has no publisher, he has no agent. What he does have is a kick-ass murder mystery book and fantastic characters.

  3. You are an inspiration to writers, Chris!

  4. Thank you, Susan. That means a lot to me!

Leave a Reply

Haddam Now

News When You Want It

Let's chat about ...

The perks of being an artist in Hong Kong.

Ian W. Sainsbury

Author of The World Walker series

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Tattered Remains

Author, Writer, Blogger, Reader, Proof & Beta Reader, A Literary Juggler, Editor

M. S. Dobing

Author of the Auran Chronicles

mmm

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WIL WHEATON dot NET

50,000 Monkeys at 50,000 Typewriters Can't Be Wrong

greatbookfound

Welcome to The Great Book Found!

Ted Atoka, writer

From urbanite, to life on the side of a dirt road

VickyLeaks

a free service to the community

Susan Wingate

Amazon Bestselling Author of Christian Fantasy, Family Drama, and the Thriller

psychosis5116

Views from the Asylum known as life

TheOriginalVanGoghsEarAnthology

The ORIGINAL Van Gogh's Ear Anthology: Freely showcasing the most creative minds on the planet

Viv Drewa - The Owl Lady

PA/PR, Indie Author and Blogger

