Wow! What an interesting few weeks!

Since the last week in January, I’ve been working very hard to have my book ready. It’s been a thorough process and it’s been great fun too! My editor, showing great patience with me, and my cover artist, showing equal patience, have led me to the point that I now have a proof of my book in print.

Their work is almost done and now it’s up to me to start advertising.

I’ve read through many different approaches to advertising a self-published book. The degrees one can go to in the aim of gaining support and recognition can be extreme. It can also become annoying to friends and family. Self-publication by necessity means self-promotion. Slowly I’m making headway. My website is being developed (www.cdanabbott.com) and I’m promoting my work through Facebook (www.facebook.com/cdanabbott). A lot of people pooh-pooh Facebook and social media in general. I however am of the opinion that advertising is advertising. You only have to look at people like George Takei, who has over 3.5million followers on Facebook alone, to know that sustained, interesting social interaction can and will make a difference. Okay, so I’ve not stared in a highly successful sci-fi TV show and become a household name in one of the longest franchises in American TV history; I’ve also not gone on to become a prolific advocate of Gay rights, and become an icon in the Gay community – George has these things over me! But my followers on Facebook have hit just under 400 and I’m happy with that beginning.

A lot of these people are unlikely to buy my book. A lot of these people are page clickers who aren’t even interested in my work – but that’s okay – because these people are unlikely to “un-like” me, unless I irritate them with extreme posting, and their friends might actually be interested in something I have to say. The reach to them, through their friends, is a win!

So for now I am content to build a reputation in cyberspace and continue to publicise my book and try and get people to read it and to give feedback on it. A review (good or bad) is a big step forward!

CDA

6 comments

  1. I can’t argue with the logic and the process should have the anticipated success if Mr Abbot’s dedication and application are criteria.

  2. Rob Reddan · · Reply

    If you want this to become a success Chris, then there’s nothing wrong with using ‘social media’ sites as a platform to promote yourself and your book. Twitter, Facebook, G+. All are fantastic mediums for getting the message out there, and if 1 in 100 buy the book and you get 200,00 views across all the mediums, then it’ll be worth the effort!

    1. It’s definitely working, Rob.

  3. Carol Ann · · Reply

    You are trying and that is the best accomplishment you can achieve. There are so many people out there that have ideas and plans in their heads but never attempt to develop them into reality. Through your dedication and hard work, your book is now real! And using social media and the internet to promote your work is the norm today so kudos and congratulations.

    1. Thank you, Carol-Ann.

Leave a Reply

Haddam Now

News When You Want It

Let's chat about ...

The perks of being an artist in Hong Kong.

Ian W. Sainsbury

Author of The World Walker series

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Tattered Remains

Author, Writer, Blogger, Reader, Proof & Beta Reader, A Literary Juggler, Editor

M. S. Dobing

Author of the Auran Chronicles

mmm

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WIL WHEATON dot NET

50,000 Monkeys at 50,000 Typewriters Can't Be Wrong

greatbookfound

Welcome to The Great Book Found!

Ted Atoka, writer

From urbanite, to life on the side of a dirt road

VickyLeaks

a free service to the community

psychosis5116

Views from the Asylum known as life

TheOriginalVanGoghsEarAnthology

The ORIGINAL Van Gogh's Ear Anthology: Freely showcasing the most creative minds on the planet

Viv Drewa - The Owl Lady

PA/PR, Indie Author and Blogger

